homemade applesauce

by sweetonwallstreet

As the temperatures get cooler (isn’t today gorgeous?), apples are becoming more prolific at the farmer’s market which means that applesauce, apple pie, apple cake and baked apples are tossing to and fro in my head.

The first has been a staple in my family for a few years now when we found a recipe so easy, you had no excuse not to do it. Now some of my friends might be rolling their eyes right now because I tell them that a lot is easy and they don’t agree, but peeling the apples is the hardest part of the whole recipe. With only apples, apple cider, citrus zest and spices, this is a great snack, addition to breakfast, topping to pancakes, you name it!

This is my “hello” to fall and when I got 5# of apples and 3# of crabapples in my CSA box last week, I knew exactly what I was making.

Applesauce (makes 2 quarts)

3# of apples, assorted varieties of sweet and tart (about 15 medium or 10 medium and 10 crabapples)

1 cup apple cider

zest of one lemon and 1 orange

2 teaspoons cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon all spice

1/4 teaspoon nutmeg

Directions

1. Preheat the oven to 400.

2. Peel, core and cut the apples into fourths. I promise this is the hardest step.

3. Put the apples, cider, zest and spices into a large dutch oven and toss everything together.

4. Put the dutch oven into the oven for 60 minutes. When you take the sauce out, let cool for 5 minutes before you mash it with a potato masher or whisk. My mom has a masher, but I don’t so I just take a whisk and use circular motions to break up the apples. They’re soft enough to do so and I like a chunkier consistency. If you like it smoother, use a food mill.

(sorry it’s not very photogenic!)

Serve as is or cool it completely before any application you wish. I had never had applesauce warm until I made this and while different, delicious and unique. Try it!

