no-bake nutty chocolate crispy bars

by sweetonwallstreet

As much as I love to bake, I’ve been more classically trained. Using butter, granulated sugar and eggs are not uncommon and while they’re not the most nutritious ingredients, I love them.

However, there’s a baker that I admire and always taunts me with delicious treats, Angela. The difference is that all of her deliciousness is vegan as she switched into the lifestyle within the last few years.

After being introduced to some vegan and even raw desserts, I wanted to learn how to start making them myself. I’m taking baby steps and that first baby step were her No Bake Peanut Butter Chocolate Crispies with PB “Fudge.” For anyone who love this combination of flavors, vegan or not, you need to make these now. They were so good and added another recipe into my memory.

When I shared them with some friends, they loved them too; but many said that they would have like more of the nut flavor to come out rather than the chocolate.

Ok, ok I know they’re crazy, but for my next attempt, I played around to see if I could deliver. Now, I’m actually more partial to these as you can also have fun with want nuts you want to showcase or have available. I’ve used peanut butter. I’ve used almond butter. Buy it, make your own… or for some more flair, make these with Ashley’s cake batter cashew butter

Then send them to me, please and thank you.

For a rainy day like today or a picnic in the colored leaves soon, these are the perfect treat to alway have on hand. Thank you Angela for starting me on my path to play around with vegan desserts!

Nutty Chocolate Crispy Bars (makes 16-20 squares or more depending on how you cut them)

inspired by Angela’s No Bake Peanut Butter Chocolate Crispies  with PB “Fudge”

for the base

1/2 cup nut butter

1/2 cup brown rice syrup

1/4 cup nut milk or coconut milk

1 tablespoon vanilla

1/2 teaspoon sea salt

3 cups brown rice crispy cereal

1/4 cup chopped nuts (optional)

for the chocolate glaze

1/4 cup cocoa/cacao/carob powder

1/4 cup coconut oil

2 oz chocolate, chopped

1. Using parchment paper, line an 8×8 square pan from both sides with extra hanging over the edge. This will make cutting the bars easy in the end.

2. In a medium sauce pan, combine all the ingredients for the base except the brown rice cereal. Stir until everything is melted and mixed together completely.

3. Turn off the heat and add the cereal and nuts if using, mixing until it’s all coasted with the sticky mixture.

4. Pour into your prepared pan and put in the freezer while you make the topping.

5. In a small sauce pan, combine all of the ingredients for the glaze and stir until the chocolate is fully melted. It won’t take long so it’s best to just keep stirring so the chocolate doesn’t burn.

6. Take the base out of the freezer and pour the glaze right over the top, getting it to one smooth layer.

7. Put back in the freezer for at least 30 minutes, but closer to an hour.

8. To cut, gently lift the overlaying paper and take the piece out of the pan. Using a knife that’s been warmed by hot water (yet dried with a towel before cutting), cut into desired square size.

9. Store cut squares in the freezer or refrigerator, so you always have a snack on hand 🙂

