pie corps

by sweetonwallstreet

Since Irene closed the market last week, Labor Day closed the market this week and I might miss the market the next two weekends because of travel, I’m having New Amsterdam Market withdrawals! Because this weekend is centered around saying “goodbye” to summer with barbecues and picnics, I thought I’d talk about a vendor from the market who makes my favorite dessert for this time of year.

Pie!

I’ve played around with crust recipes and fillings, but to be honest, I’m someone who likes to bake smaller, less intricate things like cookies or brownies. I’ve started to change my tune a little since I love cake and pie as well, but for the times where I want a really good pie, and not make it myself, there’s no one better to go to than Felipa Lopez and Cheryl Perry from Pie Corps.

Using seasonal ingredients for not only the filling, but locally sourced flour, butter and lard for their crusts, these two tease with flavors such as Fried Chicken Pie (crispy fried chicken thigh meat in a pot pie like gravy) and Garlic Greens and Feta Pie to Chess Pie (a buttermilk custard), Chocolate Pudding Pie with Rosemary Caramel (my personal favorite) or a perfect Cherry Pie.

Not only do the flavors shine, but sizes vary too. There are handpies and galettes perfect for lunch or dinner with a side salad, mason jar pies that are a great traveling snack for 1, or large pies to share with friends. If you need something sweet just for while you’re in the market, they’re pie pops are adorable, don’t you think?

They’re at the New Amsterdam Market every Sunday at the South Street Seaport from 11- 4 pm or at the Callicoon Farmer’s Market in Sullivan County most Sundays from 11- 2 pm.

